Tuesday, May 08, 2012

Verse Announce Release Date for New Album

Recently reformed hardcore heroes Verse have announced a release date and track listing for their newest album, Bitter Clarity, Uncommon Grace. The highly anticipated followup to 2008's Aggression is set to drop on July 17th, 2012. Check out the track listing below:
1) The Selfish of the Earth
2) The Selfless of the Earth
3) The Silver Spoon and the Empty Plate
4) Setting Fire to the Bridges We Cross
5) Segue One
6) You and I Are the Fortunate Ones
7) The End of All Light
8) The Relevance of Our Disconnect
9) Segue Two
10) Oceanic Tendencies
11) Finding A Way Out When There Is No Way
12) Segue Three
13) The End of All Life
On a somewhat related note, why do bands release early track-listings for albums that aren't retrospective/live etc. where we already know the songs? I mean, this track listing is cool because it gives a pretty solid impression of how the album is going to go, but for the most part, track listings are just words in list form, amirite?

Monday, May 07, 2012

New Video Alert: Vortice - "Before The Blast"

Vortice have released a new video for the single "Before The Blast". They are currently hard at work writing for their next release, possibly due out later this year. Vortice is a four-piece that hail from Barcelona, Spain and combine elements of doom, death, and math metal to create a truly heavy ambiance. Look for more from these guys in 2012. For fans of Meshuggah, Vildhjarta, and Bermuda.

Serianna Releases Video for "Lose Yourself" (Eminem Cover)

Serianna have released a video (no this isn't a Storage Wars episode) for their cover of Eminem's huge hit "Lose Yourself". It's actually a pretty well done cover considering it's very recognizable but they also do a great job of making it their own. Definitely worth a listen or two.

Ricky Hoover Leaves Suffokate

Suffokate front-man Ricky Hoover has left the band for personal reasons. You can check out his statement below. A replacement has yet to be announced. 
"As of yesterday I announced I will no longer be in the band Suffokate. This has nothing to do with the fact I'm currently going to school. This was a mutual decision, both the band and I feel this is in the best interest for everyone. Over the last 4 years I have done and seen things I never would have gotten the chance to if not for the band. These have been the best years of my life and I won't ever forget all the great memories and all the amazing fans. I am very sad to let this all go but could no longer continue due to other reasons I won't get into. I have no bad feelings or ill will towards the band and will always have love for them and the music I was fortunate enough to help create. I have poured my all and given everything I have into these last two albums and will always be grateful for them and everyone who supported me. No matter what happens the guys in Suffokate will always be my bothers. I will do whatever i can to help them out. They are some of the greatest people I have ever met and I'm truly thankful I've gotten to do this with them. This isn't the end for me musically, I plan on doing more in the near future. I have some personal things I need to take care of and priorities to work out in my life before i can do that. I will always have a passion for music and lyrical expression and will never stop writing. Music will always be in my life and a part of who I am. I'm very excited to see whats in store for me so be on the lookout for my future musical endeavors. To the fans you are the reason I'm still here and you have helped me just as much as you say I have helped you. I'm extremely fortunate that I've been able to have such a strong connection with you all. If it wasn't for you guys I wouldn't be who I am today. I will still have my personal twitter, tumblr and instagram under the name @iamrickyhoover so check those for any updates of what I'm doing."

Poison The Well announces re-releases

Metalcore pioneers Poison the Well (currently on hiatus) have annoucned that they will be re-releasing 1999's The Opposite of December and 2001's Tear From The Red through Rise Records sometime this summer. Check out the official press release below.
Rise Records and Poison the Well are proud to announce the re-release of The Opposite of December and Tear From The Red. These two classic albums (19 songs total) have been out of print for years and will finally get a proper re-release this summer which will include limited edition double 12"gatefold vinyl, deluxe CD and low-priced digital album. Both albums will be re-mastered as well.
It appears that some fans are down with the re-masters (note the video above is not the remastered version) and some fans are highly against it. I'm a bit torn. I can honestly say that Poison The Well are the band that got me into hardcore and metal music back in 2001. Back then these records actually sounded pretty awesome considering how polished everything sounds these days and we shouldn't forget that. They were forged on a low budget and in days before Macs and ProTools. It'd be like taking Led Zeppelin II and making it sound like the new Nickelback record. Not the same right? Oh well, I'm still interested to hear what the new remasters sound like. I also sincerely hope to see these guys again on the stage but after chatting with drummer Chris Hornbrook a month ago... it doesn't seem likely any time soon. DAMN YOU SLEIGH BELLS!!!!

Whitechapel Debuts New Track 'Hate Creation"

Whitechapel have debuted "Hate Creation" from their upcoming self-titled album due out June 19th via Metal Blade Records. In my opinion this could be very well the best Whitechapel song I've ever heard. I've listened to it about 15 times in the last couple of hours. It's heavy and crazy pissed off. Perfect. These guys also do a great job of utilizing their 3 guitarists to create layers of brutality and technicality. Can't wait for more new material! 9.5/10.

New Video Alert: Stick To Your Guns - "Against Them All"

Stick To Your Guns have released a video for "Against Them All" which appears on their new record Diamond available now through Sumerian Records.
I like this track quite a bit more than the first single that was just too much of a different sound for me. The video itself is "alright" but doesn't really do the song justice. I hope the next track they do is "Beyond the Sun" or "Empty Heads", my personal faves. 7/10.