Tuesday, February 07, 2012

Album Review: Psycroptic - The Inherited Repression

Psycroptic - The Inherited Repression  (February 7th, 2012 via Nuclear Blast Records)

Holy shit, folks. One haggard year later, I have returned to The Metal & Hardcore Times to bring you the freshest news in everything and anything metal. I'm excited to get back to you all here and force some of my opinions down a throat or two.

2011 held no shortage of great heavy music to drool over (some personal favourites from yesteryear included The Devin Townsend Project's dual release of 'Deconstruction' and 'Ghost', Mastodon's 'The Hunter', and the triumphant return of Despise You on their outstanding split release with Agoraphobic Nosebleed, '...And On And On') but of course, by now that's ALL old news now.

February is already here with a fucking vengeance and if you've been paying attention to, well, the internet then you should know that Aussie tech-death maniacs Psycroptic released their new full-length 'The Inherited Repression' today.

I've been rocking this album since they streamed it in full from Guitar World's website a couple of weeks ago. If you're a fan of Psycroptic at all, then you can likely guess what to expect, as it's not unlike 'Symbols Of Failure' or 'Ob(Servant)'.

The album kicks off with some droning guitar vibrato, crashing cymbals, and picks up almost immediately to the same impossibly quick double kicks they demonstrated on older songs like Alpha Breed. Guitarist, Joe Haley, who is also the brother of drummer, Dave Haley, displays some of the thrashiest rhythm chops I've ever heard on this album, as well as a few lighter, eerie intro riffs on Euphorinasia, and Deprivation.

I also want to take this moment to express my delayed gratitude to vocalist Jason Peppiatt who replaced Matthew Chalk back in 2005, and has been doing an absolutely amazing job with Psycroptic as Chalk was an unintelligible, sloppy growler. Peppiatt on the other hand, delivers a performance on 'Repression' so powerful it makes my throat hurt just listening to it.

The songwriting on 'Repression' is unparalleled by their own earlier releases. Never before has Psycroptic delivered such a consistently good record, as some songs on previous records struck me as nothing but filler. The only true drawback with this particular album is that some riffs come off as filler, but seeing as they hardly play the same riff twice, it's more than easy to overlook.

Already I'm willing to predict that this album will be turning up on a quite a few critics 'Best of 2012' lists.
The Metal & Hardcore Times gives Psycroptic's 'The Inherited Repression' 9/10 stagedives.

Tracklist :

1. Carriers of the Plague
2. Forward to Submission
3. Euphorinasia
4. The Throne of Kings
5. Unmasking the Traitors
6. Become the Cult
7. From Scribe to Ashes*
8. Deprivation
9. The Sleepers Have Awoken

*Recommended track

- Dan "The Grinder" Hurtubise

No comments:

Post a Comment